Cricket Stadiums in India

Top 10 Cricket Stadiums in India, Cricket Stadiums in India, Cricket Stadiums

1. Eden Gardens Kolkata

Eden Garden known for its notorious crowd? Do you remember 1996 world cup semi final India vs Sri Lanka?

If you know match was never completed because of crowd’s behavior. Sri Lanka won the match by default.

However, Eden garden is India’s oldest and biggest stadium.

  • Year of Establishment: 1864
  • Full Seating Capacity: 66,000 to 70,000
  • Both End Names: High Court and Debmalya Sen
  • No of ODI’s Held: 28+
  • Home For: Bengal Cricket Team and Kolkata Knight Riders

2. Raipur International Cricket Stadium

Now known as Shaheed Veer Nayaran Singh International stadium is a new state of art cricket stadium in India. However, still an ODI match has to be played here.

The infrastructure is quite good and right now it is hosting IPL matches only.

  • Year of Establishment: 2008
  • Full Seating Capacity: 60,000 to 65,000
  • Both End Names: North End and South End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 0
  • Home For: Chhattisgarh state Cricket Team

3. DY Patil Stadium Navi Mumbai

This is Mumbai’s third and newest cricket stadium with cantilever roof and concert level reinforced music system. DY Patil stadium is a masterpiece designed by Hafeez contractor. It has also tennis courts, indoor badminton courts and an Olympic sized swimming pool.

  • Year of Establishment: 2008
  • Full Seating Capacity: 55,000
  • Both End Names: Media End and Pavilion End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 0
  • Home For: Pune Warriors (IPL)

4. Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Kochi

Do not confuse this stadium with the one in New Delhi. The unique thing about this stadium is it hosts both Cricket as well as football matches.

The pitch is really good for batting but Sachin Tendulkar took his 5 wickets in this stadium.

  • Year of Establishment: 1996
  • Full Seating Capacity: 60,000 to 62,000
  • Both End Names: Road End and Media End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 10
  • Home For: Kerala Cricket Team

5. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad

The stadium has a big ground and only big stadium in Hyderabad. Initially, the stadium was deemed unfit for playing International cricket but now it is ready to host ODI matches.

First ODI was played between India and SA in 2005.

  • Year of Establishment: 2004
  • Full Seating Capacity: 52,000 to 55,000
  • Both End Names: Pavilion End and VVS Laxman End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 5
  • Home For: Hyderabad Cricket team and Deccan Chargers

6. M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore

I remember this stadium because of the quarter final match played in 1996 world cup between India and Pakistan and India defeated Pakistan.

M Chinnaswamy Cricket stadium has hosted a number of test, ODI and IPL matches. The stadium is owned by government of Karnataka.

  • Year of Establishment: 1969
  • Full Seating Capacity: 36,000 to 40,000
  • Both End Names: Pavilion End and BEML End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 25+
  • Home For: Karnataka Cricket team and Royal Challengers Bangalore

7. Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad

This is one of largest stadium in state of Gujarat. In this particular stadium Sunil Gavaskar completed his 10,000 test runs.

The pitch suits bowler than the batsmen. The first ODI match was played in 1984 between India and Australia.

  • Year of Establishment: 1982
  • Full Seating Capacity: 54,000 to 55,000
  • Both End Names: Adani Pavilion End and GMDC End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 12+
  • Home For: Indian Cricket Team, Gujarat Team and Rajasthan Royals

8. Feroz Shah Kotla Ground New Delhi

The stadium is quite beautiful and second oldest after Eden Garden. At this particular venue Anil Kumble took 10 wickets (entire team) against Pakistan in a test match.

Because of dangerous pitch an ODI match in 2009 between India and Sri Lanka was postponed. It is feared that Kotla may not host international matches because of its pitch.

  • Year of Establishment: 1883
  • Full Seating Capacity: 52,000 to 55,000
  • Both End Names: Stadium End and Pavilion End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 17
  • Home For: Delhi Cricket Team and Delhi Daredevils

9. MCA Pune International Cricket Center

Sahara bought this stadium for Rs 200 Crore. Seatings are arranged for an unobstructed view. This is one of largest stadiums in Pune.

  • Year of Establishment: April 2012
  • Full Seating Capacity: 34,000 to 54,000
  • Both End Names: Pavilion End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 1 or 2
  • Home For: Sahara Pune Warriors and Maharashtra cricket team

10. Wankhede Stadium Mumbai

This should be first in the list but because of size it is tenth. Indian cricket fans have lots of memory associated with this ground.

First one is the 2011 world cup match where India defeated Sri Lanka and second is Sachin played his last International cricket match.

Getting a Wankhede Stadium ticket for a match is very difficult.

  • Year of Establishment: 1974
  • Full Seating Capacity: 30,000 to 32,000
  • Both End Names: Garware Pavilion End and Tata End
  • No of ODI’s Held: 19
  • Home For: Mumbai Cricket Team and Mumbai Indians

Author Profile

Karan Singh
Karan Singh
Hi I am Karan a passionate blogger. It's almost 4.5 years when I started blog writing in 2019. I am the owner of the My dedication to delivering reliable information and useful tips has earned him a loyal following among tech enthusiasts seeking reliable insights and recommendations.

If You have any query then email Us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *