Sri Lanka National Cricket Team – All You Need To Know

Sri Lanka, a glittering small island in the great Indian Ocean, has long been a paradise to people who have traveled there in pursuit of white sand beaches and different cultural attractions. 

Cricket is one sport that the natives have correctly comprehended and perfected throughout the years, despite the fact that Sri Lankans are rarely acknowledged for their sports abilities on a worldwide scale.

Football and rugby are also national sports, but unlike cricket, they have not been able to gain worldwide traction. Although the British brought the sport to the nation for the first time, upper-class citizens of the local society rapidly adopted it since it was known as “The Gentleman’s Game.”

Following is everything you need to know about Sri Lankan National Cricket Team:

Sri Lanka National Cricket Team - All You Need To Know

About Sri Lanka Cricket Team 

The Sri Lankan national cricket team is the official first-class cricket team of Sri Lanka. It represents Sri Lanka in international cricket matches and is operated by Cricket Sri Lanka, its national governing body. 

Lankan cricket team also known as ‘The Lions’, plays Test matches as well as One Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is). They are the best test side after Australia, India, England, New Zealand and South Africa. 

Apart from that the Men in Yellow have recently been given a boost with the return of three former players – Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, and Mahela Jayawardene. The trio has not just added value to the local league but also inspired a new generation of cricketers to take up the game seriously. 

History of the Sri Lankan Cricket Team

The Sri Lankan cricket team represents Sri Lanka in international cricket. The team is administered by Sri Lanka Cricket, which is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka. 

The British colonization of Sri Lanka marks the beginning of the sport’s history there. In 1832, the nation’s first cricket game was played. Here, a first-class game was played in 1905. Cricket was first played internationally in 1926–1927, but it was not recognized as such until 1975. Test cricket was first played by the Sri Lankan national cricket team in 1982, while domestic first-class cricket started in 1988.

The first domestic cricket competition was held in this nation in 1938, with 12 teams competing for the Daily News Trophy. It was classified as first-class cricket in 1988 to 1989 The inaugural limited-over cricket event took place here in 1988 to 1989 with only four teams competing.

The popularity of cricket in the nation continued to rise during the 20th century, and it further increased when teams won the ICC trophy in 1979. The nation was granted full ICC membership and given the status of a test-playing squad on July 21, 1981. England won the first test, which was played in Colombo in February 1982.

If you enjoy watching cricket matches, Sri lanka vs England match is available to watch online. 

National anthem of the Sri Lankan cricket team

The national anthem of the Sri Lankan cricket team ‘Sri Lanka Matha’ is dedicated to the motherland. It is in the Sinhala language. It was composed by S. M. Subramaniam and written by S. H. M. P. Abhayawardhana.

Where to Watch Live Streaming of the SL National Cricket Team?

The SL National Cricket Team might be the home team in some of the matches but it is always interesting to watch the teams when they are on the road. 

You can watch the SL National Cricket Team live on Hotstar. You can also watch the Sri Lankan National Cricket Team on SONY Ten 3 and SONY Ten 3 HD. You can also watch the team in action on Willow, Sky Sports, and OSN Sports Cricket.

Key Players in Sri Lankan Cricket Team

The Sri Lankan cricket team has many legends who have played for the Lions for many years and have given their best for the country. 

The team has players like Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, and Thisara Perera. Lasith Malinga is a fast bowler and due to his aggressive nature, he is called ‘Maling the Mash’. He is the most experienced bowler on the team and plays a very important role in the team. 

Rangana Herath is a spin bowler and is the highest wicket-taker for the team with 800 wickets. Kusal Mendis is the only batsman to score a triple century in Test cricket at home.


The Sri Lankan cricket team is the official cricket team of Sri Lanka and represents the country in international matches. The national cricket team of Sri Lanka, commonly known as the Sri Lankans or the Men in Yellow, plays their home matches at the Colombo Cricket Club Ground. The cricket team has been nicknamed after different birds according to their performance in every series.

If you want to know about the team, its players, interesting facts about the team, their national anthem, and where to watch their live streaming, you have come to the right place.

Author Profile

Karan Singh
Karan Singh
Hi I am Karan a passionate blogger. It's almost 4.5 years when I started blog writing in 2019. I am the owner of the My dedication to delivering reliable information and useful tips has earned him a loyal following among tech enthusiasts seeking reliable insights and recommendations.

If You have any query then email Us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *